Seb's Formbot 2.4 300mm Adventure

sebster

Background

I've really enjoyed improving and working with my Ender3 v2. Leaving it at that turned out not to be an option for me and my love for pushing the envelope. I was going to go for a Trident but Formbot will apparently take another month or two before the Trident Kits come out in a pro version. So here I am 😄
Canbus and Tap are the mods that I definitely want to implement immediately. I work in IT so I'm ok with terminals etc. My ender is running Klipper and I love it.

Favourite Resources

Questions

Outside Canbus and Tap, is there a mod that I should really be taking into consideration?

BFI: seems popular but would require ordering more parts presumably from Aliexpress. I'm hoping to use the default unless that is a really bad idea.

TAP: there are already newer mods out there but it seems like I should be ok in terms of value for money with a printed TAP. The reviews of the chaoticlab CNC version were mixed enough for me to be happy to give the printed version a go since the parts are included in the kit.

Grease: There are a lot of opinions around. I struggled to find Mobilux in private use quantities. I have ordered some but I'm not sure how long delivery will take. Liqui Moly was explicitly not recommended due to additives. I have connex machine grease which is recommended for bearings. Would that likely work? I couldn't find a meaningful data sheet. Is there an alternative grease sold on amazon (de)?

Cheers

I've mostly printed small ESP project cases so printing a Voron is the biggest print job I have ever started. So far it's looking good. The part design is amazing from everything I've seen.

image.thumb.png.1d920cb89385d6743abb4fa1e8a9a8fd.png

Edited by sebster
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, sebster said:

Outside Canbus and Tap, is there a mod that I should really be taking into consideration?

Beefy front idlers or Ramalama2 idlers.

Ellis bedfans.

Nozzle scrubber and purge bucket.

Panzer ball feet.