Dockable Probe

Calvinx

As a mechanical engineer I spend countless hours working out the mathematics, testing both the theoretical and practical aspects behind the many many ideas that pop into my head.

He is a Video of a test of one version of my probe

Dockable Probe

I was driven to look for a suitable (to me) solution due to other units on offer (in my view) having multiple different issues, with the “popular” magnetic probe in my opinion being stupidly expensive compared to the sum of its parts, or with the likes of the Duet IR sensor which is very particular about reading (or not reading) the data produced by certain print surfaces, then the likes of a BL touch which shits the bed in a decently heated chamber 9anything above 50c), or inductive sensors providing huge reading variances due to reacting badly to temps.

This led me into initially designing my own magnetic version of a collectable probe, but I encountered a problem after installing this type of probe in that the hot end and part cooling fan performance was compromised which led to prints failing, I tracked the issue down to a negative interaction between the magnetic field being produced by the fan motor windings being affected by the strength of the rare earth magnets used to hold the two parts of probe together.

So that ruled out direct contact magnetic probes which led me on to a simplified version of what I have today.

My design criteria were as follows

The design must exceed the performance of other products on the market

It needs to be inexpensive for the user to put together.

It needs to employ readily available components of the same dimensions and standard across the world

Its needs to operate in a manner where its presence does not negatively impact the performance of the machine in which it has been installed

Parts count needs to be low; I am a great believer in the K.I.S.S methodology

So on to the current iteration of my design