Hello from Melbourne, Australia

polygonprint

Hello to everyone,

I was asked to do an intro / about myself. I also feel awkward talking about myself but here goes...

I have been 3d printing since 2015 after buying my first fdm printer, a Zortrax M200. Since then, I have had a few other printers, but nothing came close to the quality and accuracy of the M200, not until I purchased and built my first Voron, a V0 built from a Formbot kit. As I mostly print small abs parts this was the perfect printer for me. But lately I have been needing a larger format printer for larger quantities and larger parts. Due to this I only recently purchased a LDO Trident 300 kit which I am currently in the process of building.

My work background lies within the Visual Effects, Games, AR and the Automotive and Aerospace industries. I'm not a designer as such, but rather will take a concept image or images and / or digital scans of an existing product, eg. an existing vehicle and re-create it in 3D using a 3d polygon modelling program like Blender.

My interest in 3d printing came about after an automotive client asked about having one of their vehicles 3d printed. At the time I knew very little about 3d printing but the final digital 3d model I had created for them was printed using SLA printing (see attached). I purchased the Zortrax M200 shortly afterwards out of interest and a desire to learn more.

My next big project will be to get the printers (3.5 of them) out of the house (spare room) and into their own workshop / office / area as I have a feeling the wife has had enough. To be fair, she has put up with them for quite some time.

Thanks for listening.... Merry Christmas to all.

gt1print01.jpg

• Like 1

Welcome from a fellow Melbournean. Here you will find great advice, friendly people and lots of help. Looks like I'll have to try and learn Blender as well. Another job to do, after Fusion 360 which I am currently trying to get my head around. Happy building.