Looking for the best way to "start up things" on the Voron

DennisM

Question

Let me clarify a bit. First of all, I just finished a 2.4r2 build so I'm very new to Klipper and what you can do with it.

Basically, here's what I have: klipper running on the Pi, Octopus MCU, Euclid probe, and Klipperscreen running on the Pi for the BTT TFT50 touchscreen display.

There's stuff I have to do each time I turn on the printer - home xyz, QGL, then CALIBRATE_Z. Then heat up the nozzle to load filament.

The above are all separate steps. Here's what I'd like to do:

1. Press one button on the Klipperscreen (somewhere, not sure how/where to do this) that runs what I think should be a macro.
  2. Home x, y, and z.
  3. deploy the euclid probe (M401)
  4. do a quad gantry level
  5. re-home (z only?)
  6. run CALIBRATE_Z to measure the z-stop, probe switch body, and bed levels to auto generate the z-offset based on the bed plate I've chosen (this setup).
  7. home z again (I'm pretty sure)
  8. stow the probe back in it's dock

I am not sure which z-home commands can be removed, and where they need to be. The main issues I have with the above:

• the calibrate_z command has a config where you can specify "start" end "end" gcode commands, in this case M401 and M402 for the probe.
  • the euclid probe config has sections for "renaming" the quad gantry level command to _QUAD_GANTRY_LEVEL_ORIGINAL, essentially wrapping the original into probe deploy and stow gcode calls

I *think * I need to do the following:

• modify the calibrate_z config and leave out the M401/M402 start/end calls.
  • create (rename?) the G32 macro and have it do these things:
    • home x,y,z
    • call m401 to deploy probe
    • call _QUAD_GANTRY_LEVEL_ORIGINAL to do a QGL without probe stuff
    • I think I need another G28 here .. not sure but don't the values change a little after a QGL?
    • call CALIBRATE_Z to run the script to calculate the z offset
    • call M402 to stow probe