First initiation (STEP motor testing)

Ilan_Maimon

Question

Hi everyone, this is my first time building a Voron 2.4r 3D printer. 

I completed the build, configured the Printer file. and successfully connected with the printer through the local network dashboard.

I start testing all the wiring connections, and I successfully heated up the bed and the extruder. till this point all is working as expected. 

Now,  when I'm trying to BUZZ the STEP motors (any of the printer's step motor) i get the following  message:

Unable to read tmc uart 'stepper_x' register IFCNT
Once the underlying issue is corrected, use the
"FIRMWARE_RESTART" command to reset the firmware, reload the
config, and restart the host software.
Printer is shutdown

and i need to restart the printer.

this error is popping up regardless the step motor i try to BUZZ...

can anyone suggest where should I start looking for the solution? 

thanks

ILAN 

16 answers to this question

Hi ILAN

It would be helpful to know which controller board you are using (e.g. Octopus 1.2, SKR 1.3, etc) and get a copy of your printer.cfg. The message (as I understand it) means that klipper cannot interface/control/access/read the TMC driver chip that will be connected to the motor.The fact you say it is all  the motors that (to me) indicates a misconfiguration either of jumpers on the board or (more likely) within the printer.cfg file, rather than some awful hardware failure (dead TMC driver).

NB: I'm making a big assumption you're using Klipper here 😀

A good starting point for checking the config is the Voron 2.4 Github repository (https://github.com/VoronDesign/Voron-2/tree/Voron2.4/firmware/klipper_configurations) or if you're using some other MCU board or are just wanting to double check there is also the stock klipper configs at  https://github.com/Klipper3d/klipper/tree/master/config .