Michigan, USA

TheGrandGesture

Hello all,

I am new to the world of 3D printing.  I took delivery of my first printer on 1-14-2022 It was a used Qidi Tech I that I found at auction. 

A couple of months later I purchased an E3Max for the sake of getting my feet wet with Klipper and doing some light modifications.  This was an auction purchase as well.

The E3Max now has linear rails, a second Z axis motor and leadscrew, a DD swap and a Pi running Klipper. 

The Qidi Tech is what I am using to print my V2.4 since its fully enclosed.  I upgraded the hot ends for the Micro Swiss all metal hot ends with A2 nozzles.  I am printing the parts using 3DXTech ASA-CF for the base color and their ASA red for the accent color.   I plan to source as much of the build myself as I can, although I am noticing some bundles are a little more economical.  

I work for an automotive supplier in the Motor City that manufactures assembly lines for closure panels.  (doors, hoods, decklids, end gates).  We supply lines to GM, Ford, Stellantis, BMW, Rivian, and Daimler.  I used to work on the tooling and dies that made the doors in the assembly which consisted of a lot of welding and handing grinding.  I now work in the engineering group as a designer creating files for these dies and their stamping die counter part.  I work mainly with UG/NX but can manage Catia if I have to.   (If anyone needs help with a file feel free to ask.)

I'm no coder or have any experience with that writing scripts.  More of a script kiddy if you will. So I suspect I will be at the groups mercy for issues related to things of that nature.  

Before 3D printing I was more of a car person.  I've built a couple of motors and broken a few things.  I had an MKIV Toyota Supra TT 6MT, a Mitsubishi Galant VR4, and a Gen 1 CTS-V.  I like Star Wars.