Cannot connect to Moonraker

Haziq

Question

Hi everyone, this is my first time building a Voron 2.4r 3D printer. I have several question and challenges that I faced as I building the printer.

1. For now, I already installing mainsail on my raspberry pi (Raspberry pi 4). I always get an error 'Cannot connect to Moonraker (mainsailos.local)'.

Sometimes, the web interface is working at first but suddenly the error is come out again. Why is it happened and how to solve it?

2. How many Micro SD card need to be used? Should I use 2 (1 for Raspberry and 1 for BTT octopus)?

I really need help on these

Thank you

3 answers to this question

You'll need two SD card temporarily. You, permanently, need a largish SD card (16GB or more) for the Raspberry PI since that will effectively be the OS disk. Then you need a smaller sized SD card (size is probably immaterial but I wouldn't really go beyond 16GB) for the BTT Octopus to flash the Klipper "driver" or firmware onto it. The "klipper.bin" file that you generate on the raspberry PI ("make menuconfig", remember the "klipper.bin" needs to be renamed to "firmware.bin" on the SD Card) is around 25KB in size thus why the second SD card can be tiny (in reality it's quite hard to get sub-1GB SD cards). You only need the second SD card for the flashing process, once the BTT Octopus is flashed then you can remove the SD card.

I believe it is also possible to flash the controller board over the USB (serial) connections, however, I have always used the SD card flashing method. The only time I directly flashed klipper directly over USB was when flashing an ANET Controller board but that is based on the older 8-bit AVR chips.

I appreciate that's just a high-level answer, but if you need to know more just ask and I'll do my best.

• Like 1