Tintin's Moon Rocket

TinTin Moon Rocket by Simon2.4

Published in the 1950's, These two comic books have had a great impact on my childhood. They describe a complete moon program 10 years before the real thing was done and touches on the subjects of aerospace engineering, nuclear physics, espionage and conveyed a great sense of adventure. Bringing forth the idea of propulsive landing and re-usablity, Hergé was quite a visionary author and a great inspiration for me.

690153964_tintinbooks.png.9b925ab579713aec35b0a4c47be650cd.png

As a flying model builder, I have always wanted to make a replica of this rocket but the curvy art-deco style was a nightmare to make from 2d materials. 3D printing is ideal to reproduce curvy shapes so now that my F360 are getting better I tried to draw it and it turned out really nice.

1691580856_tintincad.thumb.png.fa21fa856bc12c6183d43af32def8f71.png

The model is split at the first segment line above the fins. The outline of the square pattern and cargo door is embossed on the surface. The fuselage is hollow and the pods are full so you can scale the STL and print with infill to have strong feet and use a raft to ensure good adhesion.

slicer.thumb.png.09fbf76be57c23d51e8f100208507cdd.pngprinted.thumb.jpg.2067e7eba0d11089578dc4f6f0a23839.jpg

• Like 2

tall.thumb.jpg.250947873ec837c191ee92f28cb1f55b.jpg

1 minute ago, Tomson said:

That look very nice Simon2.4 👍 Well done. I have also good memories from my childhood with TinTin and i like that rocket style.

I may borrow your STL and print one myself😁 How big is your model?

Probably too big lol.  my printer is very very tall. Scale in your slicer for your needs. the fuselage is 340mm tall as is.

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Simon2.4 said:

Probably too big lol.  my printer is very very tall. Scale in your slicer for your needs. the fuselage is 340mm tall as is.

Yes i saw your Voron build so i guessed it was big 😊 To big for my printer without scaling. Are you gonna paint it red/white?