Concentric_Killa's 2.4 Build

concentric_killa

Lets start this out with the fact that this is my first 3d printer. I am familiar with CNC routers and large industrial equipment that use Siemens PLC's. I have some coworkers that have Prusas and Ender 3's so I know the gist of how they work. What brought me to the Voron was the fact that it had an auto gantry leveling system. I didn't want to mess with shimming the bed every time.  I sort of just dove right in and decided to build a kit from scratch. I am a mechanical engineer by trade so I do have a lot of CAD, Electrical, and coding experience.

With that out of the way I purchased a kit from Digital Machinery Inc. I saw someone mentioned the name on Reddit and I visited the site and then sent some emails about a 2.4 kit in the 350mm size. 

They were quick to respond. A couple days later I received an invoice and then sent payment. I assume a lot of parts are from Aliexpress, but I was able to complete the build without too many trips to the hardware store. 

As with most kits, I had to aquire the printed parts separately. I searched Etsy and purchased the essential parts out of ASA. I managed to get the parts within two weeks and by the time I got the parts, my mechanical and electrical parts from digital machinery had arrived. 

I didn't take pictures of the packaging, but it was very well packed. Everything was labeled, but it was up to me to figure out where things were actually used. 

The build took me about 40 hrs and I also had some troubleshooting to tackle as well. The Voron 2.4 CAD model was a lifesaver as  some part orientations were confusing from the Instructions (Gantry Motor Mounts). 

As for the controller, I am running the Big Tree Tech 1.1 board. I had to find a local 3d printing guy in order to print me some mounts for the Board, the Power Switch bracket, Fystec Display, and the controller fan mounts. 

I had some troubleshooting that took me a bit of time to figure out.