Home Automation & 3D Printing

Graymattor

Hi All,

I'm looking to venture into home automation with my 3D printing. I have a few smart devices, but very basic stuff, so please consider me a total newbie! 

Where to start with the control element? I'm thinking Home Assistant? I'd also like spoolman and to be able to remote access from outside my network..

I'm currently running klipper on an RPi 5 8GB, would I be best repurposing this for home automation and getting a lesser powerful RPi for Klipper..

I'm very much learning on all things! Baptism of fire at the moment 😂 one thing leads to another, then to another and another 😂

Thanks 👍 

Talk about jumping in at the deep end! I am running Home Assistant here and there are integrations for both Moonraker and Spoolman. They take some work to set up but they do work. Home Assistant is a whole other rabbit hole at least as deep as the Voron one.

While I've got dashboards set up, I haven't made a lot of use on them yet. I also haven't come up with any dashboards or automations for Spoolman yet--I also only have one printer linked to it yet. However, I do have automations from the Moonraker integration; I grab print times from jobs and send myself nag messages to run maintenance cycles on the printers.

Screenshot2023-12-24075448.thumb.png.eb902b3c66a7746b7b19e70d78d67d9f.png

Nagging me right now!

Screenshot2023-12-24075809.png.849ea57a929300ffb818a8faf86d5410.png

You could definitely run HA on an 8GB Pi4 and it's way overkill for Klipper. I'm running my HA on a Yellow with a 4GB CM4 and it's solid.

I'd get each project set up and running reliably before connecting them up.

• Like 2

Thanks @claudermilk, i appreciate your reply..

to be honest I've started looking at this due to the limitations with Google home, I wanted a slight delay between things turning on to give things time to boot, but I could only set one delay!! 

I have been looking at Spoolman due to having and ERCF also in the works 😬