Voron Test cube dimensional accuracy?

Beez1965

Newbie here, my first printer is up and running V2.4rC, LDO kit 350 mm.

Lots of googling has not yielded useful results.  Perhaps I'm not good with generating search terminology, sorry.

Here's the issue, I print the Voron test cube, many of them.  The X and Y dimensional accuracy are pretty spectacular, IMO, they come out about ten microns oversize in both axes.  Pretty repeatably.  The Z dimension though is 250 to 300 microns over.  I'm being pretty careful not to measure over any warts and I've tried lightly sanding the top and bottom on 400 and 600 grit to remove same.  1% oversize seems excessive to me.  Can this be improved?  I've gone thorough tons of tuning, the stuff in the Voron build documentation, calibrations built into SuperSlicer, and the Ellis pages.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!

Chris

Interestingly, it seems like the Z dimension of the early cubes I was creating was pretty spot on, but I've printed nine of them over the months I've been building this machine and the Z has gotten worse.  I should have put a date code on the cubes and tracked the changes...

16 hours ago, VDZ said:

Make sure you are slicing your cube with a layer hight that divides evenly into the hight you are trying to print. 

Oh, now THAT'S interesting...

I'll look...  Yeah, 0.2, although the variable layer height may be interfering?

I'll try setting the limits for min and max on that to .2 as well.  Using SuperSlicer 2.4

So, skimming through the file, it seems the top layer is printed at 30.0.

I do see some jumps up to 30.4, but always preceeded by G1 E-.85 or so, which I assume is retraction, then an XY reposition, and deretraction.

As far as my naive eyes can tell, nothing should be printing above 30.0mm.

I have run a dial indicator on all axes, and it indicates proper motion, although it's only 10um per division and 5.5mm throw, it's the best I got on hand atm.