Raspberry Pi5, 3D printer set up guide

Graymattor

Hi All,

I am new to all things Rasberry Pi, but now I have an RPi5 I want to install it in my 3D printer environment (over kill I know,bought on a whim!).. im looking for a good guide that runs through set up of software (klipper), any sort of useful software addons  etc (if thats possible) and connecting up the hardware, eg. I have a meanwell 5V 75w PSU to power it, but how best to do it? I've read issues about GPIO pins, and are the lower rated? The RPi5 can consume 5amps, not likely in a 3D printer, but I'd rather not risk any issues! Also I'd like to connect a BTT HDMI7 if its possible! Printer wise it will just be a USB..

I'm only use tob the sonic pad so, looking forward to having a proper set up.

Any help would be appreciated, I've no ideacwhat or how best to set up to get the most out of it 

Thanks in advance 

You're forging a new path since these just hit the market. I would imagine setup will be much like a Pi 3 or 4. Install Debian Lite, then KIAUH and use that to install the required printer components. See here. For power, I have no advice on the Pi5. On my Pi4 in my Trident I use the GPIO. It's worked perfectly fine for me. The only hiccup I ran into was I initially only had one 5V pin hooked up; that worked for a while then started throwing intermittent undervolt errors. I added the second 5V pin and it's been rock solid ever since. I'm running it on the Octopus 5V rail which has enough capacity for the Pi and the NeoPixels I have attached (36 case, 2 Stealthburner nozzle, and the 10 LED Rainbow Barf logo).

• Like 2

Thanks, that's perfect, the info I was looking for, I cannot imagine the RPi5 being any different to an RPi3 or 4 from an install point of view. I'm very new to Linux, etc so going to be quite challenging!