How long does it take to build a Voron?

Demosth

• 6 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I spent about 3 weekends building my 2.4 350. I built my own wiring harness and crimped every one of those stupid little pins, do yourself a favor and get a harness. I also built mine with several mods preinstalled and that added quite a bit of time to the intial klipper config for me. 

• Thanks 1

• 2 weeks later...

I am probably 20 hours into the build. I am working on the electronics now. I found this site due to needing a din rain mount for my big tree 1.1 board. The printed parts kit I got off Etsy didn't provide a mount for this. I will look at getting this printed locally ( I don't have another printer). This is actually my first printer/ and build. I am very mechanically inclined and am a mech engineer by trade. The build is no different than some of the large equipment I work on for work. Only difference is that this machine isn't controlled by Siemens PLC's.  

I found the voron documentation to be decent but confusing at times. I am glad the the CAD file of the entire build is available. This was helpful in figuring out the parts of the build that the manual 'skipped' over. The youtube builds from Dr. D Flow and steve builds have been a great resource as well. 

I got a kit from Digital Machinery. The parts have been decent, but I ended up going to my local industrial hardware store to pick up extra fasteners. I managed to find an R pi from a store back east. I have already installed mainsail and loaded the generic printer.cfg to it. 

• Like 1

@concentric_killa What parts of the build were the most difficult - and what videos helped you through that?

This is the first I have heard of someone purchasing a kit through https://store.digmach.com/ - What was your overall experience like? It would be great to do a "Seller Review" as a new topic and share your feedback with the community!

2 hours ago, Demosth said: