Hiya!!!!

AdmiralJohn

Hi there!

I'm a 51-year old grandfather of two living about 10 miles outside of Binghamton, NY. I've been into 3D printing for about two years, migrating in that time from an Ender 3 Pro to my current Prusa MK3S+, Kobra Max and two resin printers. 🙂

I currently have the MK4 upgrade kit on order but I'm now debating cancelling it and purchasing either the
Qidi Tech - X-PLUS 3 or a Voron 2.4 R2 kit. 

So any advice one way or the other anyone wants to sling my way I'm welcome to. 🙂

Jokes aside, the X-Plus is a printer while the 2.4 is a project. Not quite the same.

The Voron looks likr an amazing printer but looks a bit intimidating. 

I guess my main concern is the complexity of the build... I build my Prusa, I can change brakes on a car, I've installed ceiling fans, repaired my pellet stove and my furnace. I also work in IT; I've build computers for years and spent three years of my career working as a Desktop Support tech, fixing PCs and the like. 

Can I assume that the experience I have should make a Voron withing my capabilities to build? And quality-wise, I imagine the Voron will take some work to get tuned in (along the line of what you have to do with other printers initially) but once that's one the print quality is awesome?

Welcome to TeamFDM!

And thank you!!!

Edited by AdmiralJohn

If you are looking for a fun project that culminates in an awesome printer, then Voron is certainly a great choice. It's not an easy build but everything is very well documented and the community is available and enthusiast for helping getting you getting unstuck. I'd say go for it. The 2.4 is a really fine machine.

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum.

7 hours ago, AdmiralJohn said:

Can I assume that the experience I have should make a Voron withing my capabilities to build?