Hey from Victoria BC

CDAD

Hey! 

I'm new to the DIY printer scene but I've been printing and prototyping for the past 7 years with FDM machines. I get to play with some pretty high end stuff like a Markforged MarkTwo and Makerbot Method X Carbon. I've got a Lulzbot Mini (in need of being upgraded to a Mini 2... Eventually) and Matterhackers Pulse XE sitting as paperweights and spare parts repositories. 

I built a 350 2.4R1 for my first true DIY with a Formbot kit and almost went nuts in the process. Since then I'm working on a V0.1 Bowden setup with my daughter (she wants to join the robotics team at school, so I figure we'll build a real robot that she can use to make her stuff with!) and upgrading the 2.4 to MGN12 X-axis, TAP, Stealthburner with 2pc PCB and ADXL. Oh and I'm looking at the Nevermore MAX too. It's gonna be a busy January. I also printed all my structural parts on the Markforged with continuous fiberglass reinforcement. It's extra beefy, without much extra weight. 

I love these printers and what they are capable of! Though I'm still very much a noob with the software side of things. I've been skulking here a bit and appreciate the time and effort you all put into these projects. Cheers,

Cam

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum. What a great project to share with your daughter. If you feel so inclined please consider posting a build diary - we would love to see the progress.

Don't hesitate to ask for help or advice, or give advice - friendly people around here - happy to be involved.

Welcome again!

At least you have January covered 🙂 

Season's greetings and welcome aboard. As @mvdveer says great project to get your daughter involved with - if I suggested something similiar to my daughter she'd have me committed (after giving me a withering look).

If you do get a chance in between all that work, it would be great to see a build diary.

Happy New Year and thanks for the welcome 🙂 It's been a long time since I've participated in a forum haha!